USDA Names 597 Counties as Disaster Areas Due to Drought

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated 597 counties in 14 states as primary natural disaster areas due to a history-making, ongoing drought. “As drought persists, USDA will continue to partner with producers to see them through longer-term recovery, while taking the swift actions needed to help farmers and ranchers prepare their land and operations for the upcoming planting season,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. Each county has been in a severe drought for eight consecutive weeks, based on measurements by the U.S. Drought Monitor. Eligible producers in those areas are eligible for low-interest emergency loans through their local Farm Service Agency office. Learn more.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.