Arkansas Welcomes First African-American County Committee Member

Pictured from l to r: Theodore Eldridge, FSA state committee chairman, Leonard McKissick, Linda Newkirk, state executive director and Janie Williams, county executive director.

Leonard McKissick has been appointed as the first African-American voting member of   FSA’s St. Francis County Committee in Arkansas. The appointment is part of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack’s continued effort to ensure an equitable voice among all segments of rural America. USDA’s goal is to put fair voting representation on committees in counties with large minority farmer and rancher populations that lack fair representation. County committee members provide a link between the agricultural community and USDA by helping to deliver FSA programs at the local level.

This entry was posted in Features and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.